Humanitarianresponse Logo

Welcome to the Ethiopia Protection Cluster Webpage

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster has been active since 2008 following the global roll out of the cluster approach. In 2016, for the first time, a protection component was included in the Ethiopia Humanitarian Requirements Document (HRD). In 2019, for the first time, a Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) was prepared which cited 3.19 million Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs).

Key protection concerns faced by Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and other affected populations in Ethiopia include sexual and gender based violence, physical violence, child marriage, family separation (including unaccompanied and separated children), psycho-social distress and trauma, persons with specific needs not receiving or being able to access life-saving services, persons without adequate shelter and living in collective sites, persons missing documentation and having no legal redress for lost property, livelihood or human rights violations.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster (EPC) includes the Child-Protection (CP) and Gender-Based Violence (GBV) Areas of Responsibility (CP/GBV AoR), co-led by UNICEF, UNFPA and the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs (MoWCA); the Housing, Land and Property Working Group (HLP WG), co-led by UNHCR and NRC, and the Site Management Support Working Group (SMS WG), co-led by UNHCR and IOM.  

The Protection Cluster membership includes Government Institutions, UN agencies, donors, national and international NGOs.

The Protection Cluster meetings are held twice per month on Thursday. 

Protection Cluster 5Ws Interactive Dashboard

KEY CONTACTS

National
 
kayla pries - Co-Protection Cluster Coordinator - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa -kayla.pries@drc.ngo  - 
 
Gelila Dereje - Protection Cluster Consultant - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - dereje@unhcr.org - +251944140799
 
Habtamu Gulilat Awgachwe - Information Management Officer - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - awgachwe@unhcr.org+251911800597
 
CP/GBV AoR
 
Caroline Haar - Gender Based Violence Subcluster Coordinator - UNFPA - Addis Ababa - haar@unfpa.org - +251905686764
 
Pascal Petitat - CPiE Specialist -  UNICEF Addis Ababa - ppetitat@unicef.org. +2519 394 1675
 
Feven Zerihun - CP/GBV Information Managment Officer - UNICEF - Addis Ababa - fzerihun@unicef.org - +251962085595
 
HLP-WG

Claire Merat - ICLA Specialist (Information, Counselling and Legal Assistance) - NRC - Addis Ababa - claire.merat@nrc.no - +251 91 250 7935

SMS-WG

Stiofáinín NIC ÍOMHAIRD - Site Management Support (SMS) Project Manager - Emergency Post-Crisis Unit - IOM addis Ababa -SNICIOMHAIRD@iom.int - +251 (0) 944 336603

 
sub-national

 

Nimo Ahmed - Protection Associate - Somali Region - ahmedni@unhcr.org - +251963044115
 
Samuel Amanuel - Protection Associate, Bule Hora - UNHCR Gedeo- amanuels@unhcr.org- +251913015729
 
Tseday Girma - Protection Associate, Dilla. - Gedeo and West Guji - girmats@unhcr.org - +251911545781
 
Victoria Copa Camara - Protection Officer - East and West Wollega - camarav@unhcr.org - +251 944309260