Humanitarianresponse Logo

The Gender Standby Capacity Project (GenCap) - an IASC initiative created in 2007 in collaboration with the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) - seeks to facilitate and strengthen capacity and leadership of humanitarians to undertake and promote gender-sensitive programming to ensure the distinct needs of women, girls, boys and men of all ages and backgrounds, are taken into account in humanitarian action at global, regional, and country levels.

GenCap’s goal is to ensure that all women, girls, boys and men of all ages and backgrounds, affected by natural disasters or conflict, are able to access assistance and support that cater to their distinct needs and experiences.

Gender Capacity (GenCap) Advisers

A small core team of senior, experienced, full-time Senior GenCap Advisers (at UN P4-P5 equivalent) deploy to be hosted by the Humanitarian Coordinator's Office or a UN agency.

If you wish to contact the Senior GenCap Advisers currently deployed, please go to ' Where we are'

The GenCap Inter-Agency Steering Committee

The GenCap project is led by a Steering Committee that exercises oversight, provides strategic direction and participates in recruitment and deployment decisions.

The GenCap Inter-Agency Steering Committee meets and communicates regularly. It is comprised of OCHA, FAO, UNHCR, UNFPA, UNDP, UNICEF, WFP and UN Women and NRC. The GRG has observer status. For further information and contact details of the Steering Committee Members, please see the table below.

The GenCap Support Unit

The GenCap Support Unit, hosted by OCHA (UN Geneva), has a management function: it facilitates the work of the Steering Committee (including decision making processes regarding deployments), interacts with humanitarian country teams to develop requests, supports Senior GenCap Advisers by acting as the contact point for all content-related aspects that they may encounter, liaises with standby partners and donors and manages this website.

Located in OCHA, this provides the GenCap project with a solid inter-agency anchor and links Senior GenCap Advisers to general discussions concerning humanitarian policy and coordination.

If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us: Afia Ali-Blasco, Humanitarian Affairs Officer, Gender Capacity, +41 76 691 0591 - blasco@un.org

The Norwegian Refugee Council

The Norwegian Refugee Council acts as the employer for all GenCap roster members and handles all administrative issues.

For further questions regarding these: Trine Wengen, + 47 94 14 84 55 - trine.wengen@nrc.no

We would be happy to answer any further questions or provide you with any additional information. Please find our contact details in the table below:

Agency First Name Last Name Email address

Core Members

     

UNICEF NY

Mendy

Marsh

mmarsh@unicef.org

WFP

Veronique

Sainte-Luce

veronique.sainte-luce@wfp.org

NRC

Kristine Storholt kristine.storholt@nrc.no

OCHA

Elizabeth

Eilor

eilor@un.org

UN WOMEN NY

Caroline

Rusten

caroline.rusten@unwomen.org

UNHCR

Rebecca

Eapen

eapen@unhcr.org

UNFPA Fabrizia Falcione falcione@unfpa.org
UNDP Randi Davis randi.davis@undp.org
FAO Rome Indira Joshi indira.joshi@fao.org
Observers      

GRG

Caroline Rusten caroline.rusten@unwomen.org
GRG David Coffey david.coffey@unwomen.org
SIDA Anna Sahlen Ramazzotti anna.sahlenramazzotti@sida.se
SIDA Ingela Winter-Norberg ingela.winter-norberg@sida.se
SIDA Minna Stromberg minna.stromberg@sida.se
CARE Isadora Quay isadora.quay@care.org.au
CARE Gareth Price Jones Price-Jones@careinternational.org