Humanitarianresponse Logo

Pacific Humanitarian Protection Cluster: Terms of Reference (June 2016)

Pacific Humanitarian Protection Cluster (PHPC) Terms of Reference, as revised in June 2016

I.             Background

Pacific Islands Countries (PICs) are amongst the most vulnerable states in the world to natural disasters including cyclones, volcanic eruptions, floods, droughts, tsunamis, and earthquakes.  To prepare for and respond to the Pacific region’s high vulnerability to natural disasters, the UN Country Teams in Fiji and Samoa established the regional Pacific Humanitarian Team (PHT) in 2008.  The PHT is the agreed collaborative coordination mechanism among all the major humanitarian actors in the region, and covers the following 14 countries: Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Under the regional PHT, a unique cluster system has been established including seven clusters, which are regional in scope and exist on a ‘permanent standby’ basis.  This enables the PHT clusters to engage in ongoing awareness-raising, capacity-building, and provision of technical guidance and support to regional and national-level humanitarian actors for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. 

Operation(s)/ Webspace(s): 
United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
Original Publication Date: 
30 Jun 2016
Document type: 
Terms of Reference