Humanitarianresponse Logo

WELCOME TO THE ETHIOPIA PROTECTION CLUSTER WEBPAGE

This site is not maintained on a regular basis. Please see the GPC Data Portal for the latest information.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster has been active since 2008 following the global roll out of the cluster approach. In 2016, for the first time, a protection component was included in the Ethiopia Humanitarian Requirements Document (HRD). In 2019, for the first time, a Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) was prepared which cited 3.19 million Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs).

Key protection concerns faced by Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and other affected populations in Ethiopia include sexual and gender based violence, physical violence, child marriage, family separation (including unaccompanied and separated children), psycho-social distress and trauma, persons with specific needs not receiving or being able to access life-saving services, persons without adequate shelter and living in collective sites, persons missing documentation and having no legal redress for lost property, livelihood or human rights violations.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster (EPC) includes the Child-Protection (CP) and Gender-Based Violence (GBV) Areas of Responsibility (CP/GBV AoR), co-led by UNICEF, UNFPA and the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs (MoWCA); the Housing, Land and Property Working Group (HLP WG), co-led by UNHCR and NRC, and the Mine Action (MA) Areas of Responsibility (AoR) lead by  (UNMAS).  

The Protection Cluster membership includes Government Institutions, UN agencies, donors, national and international NGOs.

The Protection Cluster meetings are usually held the last Thursday of every month. 

Ethiopia Protection Cluster Services Mapping

Protection Cluster 5Ws Interactive Dashboard

KEY CONTACTS

National Cluster 
Michele Simone-  Snr. Protection Cluster Advisor - Addis Ababa - simone@unhcr.org
 
Alon Margalit -  Cluster Co-Coordinator( DRC) - Addis Ababa - alon.margalit@drc.ngo
 
Meba Teklewold -  Asst. Protection Officer  - Addis Ababa- teklewol@unhcr.org
 
Gete Mekuria -    Info. Management Officer  - Addis Ababa - mekuria@unhcr.org
 
CP AoR
Estelle-Emile Dade- Child Protection AoR Coordinator -UNICEF - Addis Ababa - edade@unicef.org
 
 
GBV AoR
Ephraim Karanja- Gender Based Violence Coordinator - UNFPA - Addis Ababa - ekaranja@unfpa.org
 
Mekdes Derseh - GBV Information Managment Officer - UNFPA- Addis Ababa - maderseh@immap.org 
HLP-WG

Fethia Ismail - Coordinator(NRC) - Addis Ababa - fethia.ismail@nrc.no

Nina Schrepfer  - Co-Coordinator (UNHCR)- Addis Ababa - schrepfer@unhcr.org

MA AoR

Abel Tesfai-  Chief of Mine Action Programme Ethiopia- UNMAS-Addis Ababa- abel.tefai@un.org

 

Sub-national Cluster
Muluget Tesfaye - Asst. Protection Officer -Afar Region - tesfaymu@unhcr.org 
 
Keuwa Leon Doumun - Snr. Protection Coordinator- Amhara Region- Bahir Dar- doumun@unhcr.org
 
Antonie Gassisou - Protection Officer- Amhara Region- Debrebirehan - gassisou@unhcr.org
 
Amjad DAKHALLA  - Protection Coordinator - Amhara Region- Gonder- gassisou@unhcr.org
 
Restituta Cang  - Ass. Field Officer (Prot.) - Benishangul Region -Assosa- CANG@unhcr.org 
 
Guelnoudji Ndjekounkosse  - Snr. Protection Officer- Gambella Region- ndjekoug@unhcr.org
 
Kelly Koo  -  Protection Officer- Gambella Region- koo@unhcr.org
 
Gairat Almatov  - Head of Field Office - Oromia Region- West & Kamash Zones- almatov@unhcr.org
 
Gimbi Moroda - Protection Ass.- Oromia Region- West & Kamash Zones- morodag@unhcr.org
 
Samuel Amanuel- Community-Based Prot Assc.- Oromia Region- Bulehora FO- amanuels@unhcr.org
 
Nimo Ahmed Abdilahi Protection Ass..- Somali Region - ahmedni@unhcr.org
 
Tsedey Girma Protection Ass..- East/West Hararge-Diredawa -- girmats@unhcr.org
 
Rose Mweb  -  Snr. Protection Cluster Advisor- Tigray Region- Mekelle- mwebi@unhcr.org
 
Sarah Elliott - Protection Officer - Tigray Region- Mekelle- elliotts@unhcr.org
 
Mustafa ELHEJAJI   - Protection Coordination Officer- Tigray Region- Shire- elhejaji@unhcr.org