Humanitarianresponse Logo

Welcome to the Ethiopia Protection Cluster Webpage

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster has been active since 2008 following the global roll out of the cluster approach. In 2016, for the first time, a protection component was included in the Ethiopia Humanitarian Requirements Document (HRD). In 2019, for the first time, a Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) was prepared which cited 3.19 million Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs).

Key protection concerns faced by Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and other affected populations in Ethiopia include sexual and gender based violence, physical violence, child marriage, family separation (including unaccompanied and separated children), psycho-social distress and trauma, persons with specific needs not receiving or being able to access life-saving services, persons without adequate shelter and living in collective sites, persons missing documentation and having no legal redress for lost property, livelihood or human rights violations.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster (EPC) includes the Child-Protection (CP) and Gender-Based Violence (GBV) Areas of Responsibility (CP/GBV AoR), co-led by UNICEF, UNFPA and the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs (MoWCA); the Housing, Land and Property Working Group (HLP WG), co-led by UNHCR and NRC, and the Site Management Support Working Group (SMS WG), co-led by UNHCR and IOM.  

The Protection Cluster membership includes Government Institutions, UN agencies, donors, national and international NGOs.

The Protection Cluster meetings are held twice per month on Thursday. 

Protection Cluster 5Ws Interactive Dashboard

KEY CONTACTS

National
 
Kristin Arthur - Protection Cluster Coordinator - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - arthur@unhcr.org  - +251936010672
 
Gelila Dereje - Protection Cluster Consultant - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - dereje@unhcr.org - +251944140799
 
Dula Wakassa Duguma - Information Management Officer - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - duguma@unhcr.org+251939965645
 
Noah Sempiira - Information Management Officer - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - sempiira@unhcr.org - +251903182671
 
CP/GBV AoR
Natalie Mccauley - Child Protection Subcluster Coordinator - UNICEF - Addis Ababa - nmccauley@unicef.org
 
Caroline Haar - Gender Based Violence Subcluster Coordinator - UNFPA - Addis Ababa - haar@unfpa.org - +251905686764
 
Feven Zerihun - CP/GBV Information Managment Officer - UNICEF - Addis Ababa - fzerihun@unicef.org - +251962085595
 
Sub-national 
 
Olivia Wellesley-Cole - Protection Cluster Co-facilitator - Somali Region - wellesle@unhcr.org - +251935404858
 
Gorretty Akinyi Omala - Senior Protection Officer - Gedeo and West Guji - omalag@unhcr.org - +251944309262
 
Christiane Fokam Makougoum - Associate Protection Officer - West Guji - FOKAMMAK@unhcr.org - +251953460279
 
Victoria Copa Camara - Protection Officer - East and West Wollega - camarav@unhcr.org - +251 944309260