Humanitarianresponse Logo

Welcome to the Ethiopia Protection Cluster Webpage

This site is not maintained on a regular basis. Please see the GPC Data Portal for the latest information.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster has been active since 2008 following the global roll out of the cluster approach. In 2016, for the first time, a protection component was included in the Ethiopia Humanitarian Requirements Document (HRD). In 2019, for the first time, a Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) was prepared which cited 3.19 million Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs).

Key protection concerns faced by Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and other affected populations in Ethiopia include sexual and gender based violence, physical violence, child marriage, family separation (including unaccompanied and separated children), psycho-social distress and trauma, persons with specific needs not receiving or being able to access life-saving services, persons without adequate shelter and living in collective sites, persons missing documentation and having no legal redress for lost property, livelihood or human rights violations.

The Ethiopia Protection Cluster (EPC) includes the Child-Protection (CP) and Gender-Based Violence (GBV) Areas of Responsibility (CP/GBV AoR), co-led by UNICEF, UNFPA and the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs (MoWCA); the Housing, Land and Property Working Group (HLP WG), co-led by UNHCR and NRC, and the Site Management Support Working Group (SMS WG), co-led by UNHCR and IOM.  

The Protection Cluster membership includes Government Institutions, UN agencies, donors, national and international NGOs.

The Protection Cluster meetings are usually held the last Thursday of every month. 

Protection Cluster 5Ws Interactive Dashboard

KEY CONTACTS

National
Fatima Eldiasty -  Cluster Coordinator - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - eldiasty@unhcr.org - +251 97 810 3969
 
Nii Ako Sowa - Information Management Officer - UNHCR Representation to Ethiopia - Addis Ababa - sowanii@unhcr.org
 
CP/GBV AoR
Dientje van Dongen - Gender Based Violence Subcluster Coordinator - UNFPA - Addis Ababa - vandongen@unfpa.org
 
Ivana Chapcakova - Child Protection AoR Coordinator -  UNICEF Addis Ababa - ichapcakova@unicef.org 
 
Feven Zerihun - CP/GBV Information Managment Officer - UNICEF - Addis Ababa - fzerihun@unicef.org - +251962085595
 
HLP-WG

Claire Merat - ICLA Specialist (Information, Counselling and Legal Assistance) - NRC - Addis Ababa - claire.merat@nrc.no - +251 91 250 7935
 

SMS-WG

Bidan Lasiti - Site Management Support (SMS) Project Manager - Emergency Post-Crisis Unit - IOM addis Ababa - blasiti@iom.int

Stanley Okanga - SMS Information Management Officer - Addis Ababa - SOKANGA@iom.int
 

Sub-national
Nimo Ahmed - Protection Associate - Somali Region - ahmedni@unhcr.org - +251963044115
 
Nana Kharbedia - Sub National Protection cluster Co-Coordinator-Somali Region - nana.kharbedia@drc.ngo - +251 9300 13411
 
Samuel Amanuel - Protection Associate, Bule Hora - UNHCR West Guji Bule Hora - amanuels@unhcr.org - +251913015729
 
Hilda Ochuonyo - Protection Cluster Coordinator - Gambella - ochuonyo@unhcr.org - +251966139171
 
Roger Edmond Balyamujura - Protection Officer - Benishangul - balyamuj@unhcr.org - +251930076250
 
Victoria Copa Camara - Protection Officer - East and West Wollega - camarav@unhcr.org - +251944309260