Humanitarianresponse Logo

In the Humanitarianresponse.info, the site focal point who is ‘Manger’ by default has the ability to manage the users in their site i.e. add new users, edit roles of the existing users or remove existing users from the site. In this tutorial we have explained the steps for the following sections:

Add new User

As site focal point i.e. ’Manager ‘, you can add new user and assign them ‘Editor’ or ‘Manager’ role so they can manage the site content and do the regular maintenance of the site.

Use the following steps to add new users;

  1. Login to your site as a ‘Manager’
  2. Click on the ‘GROUP’ tab in your site

    Manage site users

  3. Once you are inside the Group, click on the ‘People’ link to check users who are already added to the site via a Humanitarian ID account. You can check here if the person is already added to the site or not. If not then click on the ‘Add people’ link to add the person to the website.

    Add user

  4. Select the name you want to add. In order to add user to the site, make sure that he or she has already registered in Humanitarian ID and activated her account on HR.info.
  5. Choose the user role from ‘Roles’ you want to assign to ‘Charles Kimeu’ for the site.
  6. Select ‘Group membership’ from the Field name drop-down list.
  7. Click the ‘Add user’ button at the bottom to add the person to the site.

 

Edit existing user

Sometime you may want to edit the user role for the site i.e. block/unblock the user, upgrade the user from Editor to the Manager or vice versa. Use the following steps to do so;

  1. Login to your site as a ‘Manager’
  2. Click on the ‘GROUP’ tab in your site as shown in the beginning of this tutorial.
  3. Once you are inside the Group, click on the ‘People’ link.
  4. Click on the ‘edit’ link against the user name you want to edit.
  5. Make edits to the user’s role by changing the status or changing her or her role
  6. Click on the ‘Update membership’ button to save the editing. See the screenshot below.

Edit user

 

Remove or delete users

As a site manager, you may want to remove existing users(with edit rights) from your site from your site for number of reasons for example, he or she are no longer part of the ongoing operation or they won’t be making any edits to the site anymore. Note however that, when you remove the user from your site, they will remain registered users in the global Humanitarianresponse.info platform.

To remove users from the site, use the following steps;

  1. Login to your site as a ‘Manager’
  2. Click on the ‘GROUP’ tab in your site as shown in the beginning of this tutorial.
  3. Once you are inside the Group, click on the ‘People’ link.
  4. Click on the ‘remove’ link against the user name you want to remove.
  5. Click on the ‘Remove’ button to remove him or her from the site.